I Feel the Need to Lead

I also feel like blogging, so that’s what’s up. 

Leading…I can lead stuff. I do it all the time. I lead my geese around the yard. I lead my chickens to the watering hole. I lead the way to the garage. I lead other people during group projects. I lead my campers to activities. I lead them in devotionals. I generally do a lot of leading. But I want more.

I feel like God is really calling me to push my limits and lead other peers. I do a lot of “leading” for people younger than me or in school assignments, which hardly counts. But ever since I got to college, I’ve just felt God saying, “Hey, Bridget. You’ve done a great job leading those little campers and whatnot, but I want you to do more. I want you to deliberately search out opportunities to lead your peers and be brave enough to take them. But, don’t worry. I’m here and I am going to provide everything you’ll need. Go on. Let Me shine.” I mean, how much more obvious can he get? Hello? Knock knock! It’s God. Here’s your task. Do it, okay? Okay. 

Thank goodness he provides. I mean, just last week at IV, I was given the opportunity to write on the back of a card that said what God was calling me to do that night. And the guest speaker gave us several options, such as, “I’m new to this Jesus thing and I have questions”, “I want to be in a witnessing community”, “I want to attend apprentice training to learn to lead witnessing communities and the like”, or “I don’t really know anything about Jesus…I’m just here because my friend told me to come.” BAM! Go, God! So, naturally, I wrote down the apprenticeship one. At first, I was apprehensive. Then I remembered what God had spoken to me, “Be brave. I’m here to provide for you.” My immediate thought was, “Wow, God really does answer prayer when we follow through with his desires.” Long story short, Jacob and Cara (my leaders) came by my dorm today and basically explained what would be happening in this training and asked if that was something I was willing to do. (Um, of course. God did this on purpose!) So, in Jacob’s words, I’ll be thrown to the wolves and I will fend for myself. Just kidding, but he really did say that. 

But, I actually am really excited to start these meetings…the first one is this coming Sunday evening. I know that God has gifted me with different skills and talents than other people and vise versa, so I’m excited to work with my leaders and fellow students in learning to lead our own witnessing communities and expand the ministry on campus to others who don’t know the love of Jesus. I’d like to think that I have a good communication skill set when it comes to talking to non-believers because of where my life had gone and where I am now. 

That’s about it. Like the title states, I feel the need to lead. And wherever God takes me, I will go. He is my Rock and he will not stray from me. I am protected by his grace and love and I have nothing to fear of the future. I know that in every place he takes me, I am there for a reason and I can trust him. 

Jeremiah 3:15 Then I will give you shepherds after my own heart, who will lead you with knowledge and understanding.

Psalm 20:7 Some trust in chariots and some in horses, but we trust in the name of the LORD our God.

Psalm 91:2 I wil say of the LORD, He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.

Psalm 125:1 Those who trust in the LORD are like Mount Zion, which cannot be shaken, but endures forever. 

Leave a Reply

