A Servant’s Heart

Lately, my Father has been laying something very personal on my heart. He is calling me to become humbled by His grace and serve others, just as He has done. He brought me to a couple places in Scripture, one being John chapter 13, where Jesus washes the feet of His disciples. 

I mean, what a task! The Saviour of the world humbled himself to a servant, washing the feet of the ones who loved him. Jesus was about to be crucified, about to die the most humiliating, painful way to die…for me. He bent down, filled a basin with water and began to wash Simon Peter’s feet. And Peter asked the question that any one of us probably would have asked. He asked, “Lord, do you wash my feet?” And Jesus answered him by saying, “What I am doing you do not understand now, but afterword you will understand.” Jesus was about to make the ultimate sacrifice for us, so that we could spend eternity in Heaven, praising his name forever! Now, Jesus knew that Judas Iscariot was going to betray him three times before the morning and Jesus still served him. When he had finished, he asked the men if they understood what he had done to them. These verses really jump out at me. “14 If I then, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also ought to wash one another’s feet. 15 For I have given you an example, that you also should do as I have done to you…20 Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever receives the one I send receives me, and whoever receives me receives the one who sent me.” 

Jesus said it himself. He is the example, the perfect, flawless, all-loving example. We should be striving to serve one another, especially if they aren’t the “right people” to be hanging out with. Jesus didn’t teach the righteous ones. He spent time with sinners, the poor, the weak, the sick, the tax collectors, etc. 

While I may feel awkward being with people who don’t have the same beliefs as me and feelings of insignificancy, the Spirit will guide me and I can trust that. Though it may sound weird, the people to whom I am trying to reach will notice that I am different. They may not mention or say anything point-blank, but that is the mystery of the Spirit. He flows through me and you into the lives of others. It is nothing of my works. I can do all that I can and try to make a situation happen, but the truth is, I have no control over that. Isn’t that reassuring? Like, I literally have to obey the Lord and he will guide me to where I am being called to in that moment and He will work.

There is nothing I can do or say that will influence conversation. God has full control and, for that, I am grateful. If I had control, life would be messy. But God loves me and he loves you so much more than is even comprehendible! He has the power and he is the example. I need to go into the world and be Christ to others. If the Spirit is in me, then whom shall I fear? If my God can send his only Son to die for my salvation, shouldn’t I be able to get out of my comfort zone and do the Great Commission? We are called to love others as Christ has loved us and by our love for one another, all people will know we are his disciples. 

Later on in chapter 15, Jesus says these words, “16 You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you that you should and bear fruit and that your fruit should abide, so that whatever you ask the Father in my name, he may give it to you.” The Lord chose me to be a servant of the Kingdom, and making excuses for not pursuing this command will only hurt my relationship with God. 

Nothing is impossible if the Spirit dwells within our souls. The Lord is my strength and love. I cannot do anything on my own, but only by God’s desires. 

I am beyond excited for this next year of my life! I can already feel God working through me while talking to people and being encouraged by leaders and friends. God is faithful to his promises and he will never leave my side! 

John 16:33 I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world, you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”

Go out and preach the good news!

One thought on “A Servant’s Heart

Leave a Reply

