First Weekend of College

My name is Bridget Taylor. This is my first blog ever, so give me some grace. I am 18 years old and I just moved into college yesterday. I am attending Bemidji State University in Bemidji, MN. So far, my orientation weekend has been very overwhelming. The faculty have planned loads of seminars and junk that I’m supposed to attend. I don’t really enjoy mandatory “fun”and since I’m an introvert, this whole mingling thing isn’t really working out for me. I’m Pine Hall, it’s the smallest dorm on campus, so it’s really quiet, which I like, but I make friends a lot slower than most people, so sometimes the quiet can be a bad thing. Hopefully, it will get better as time moves on and classes get rolling.
I’m a strong Christian and attending a secular campus is already difficult. There are so many different temptations around me. It seems that everyone is swearing and already planning to go to parties. Today, I was talking with Anthony at this Party Hard in the Courtyard thing (dance and yard games and mingling) and I was talking to this other dude, who’s name I didn’t catch, and he kept asking me if I partied and got high often. When I said I didn’t, he would be like “Oh, me neither…” real fast. We have been splitting up into these groups during floor meetings and my FYRE class and literally every tenth word is a curse word. I want to fit in here, but I want to be strong for Christ. He will never leave me, but I’m finding it hard to draw near to Him in the midst of this madness.
I know I’ve only been here a couple days, but I just don’t feel right here. I’m used to being away from home, so I’m not really homesick, but I just don’t feel like I’m going to fit in. Everyone already has friend groups and are having a good time and I just don’t want to do anything because I feel like no one will be interested in talking to me. I have met a couple nice girls, Brianna and Jordan; they’re down the hall from me a ways. I realize that some of these people will end up being my best friends someday, but I just hate this transition stage.
I’m really excited for classes to start on Monday. I’m taking Biology, Psychology, Mass Media and Society, Symphonic Band and FYRE (First Year Residential Experience). They should be alright. I’ve taken a class similar to Mass Media before, so that is probably going to be easy. And I’m pumped for biology and psych because I’m interested in those things.
I really hope that tomorrow isn’t as bad as these last couple days. It’s so exhausting with all the heat, humidity and activity going on. I just want to be sleeping and not sweat all night. I suppose that I should probably go take a shower and go to bed. It’s only 10:30, but I’m tired. Except, Shelby isn’t back yet and I don’t want to get woken up by her coming in later. Ugh.
I’m really looking forward to being on my own, but I’m not sure if Bemidji is the right place for me. But, I highly doubt my parents would understand, much less care. We’ll see how these next few weeks go. I really want to like it here because I’ll be spending a lot of time here working towards my major, which is elementary education and BSU is one of the top rated school for education degrees in the midwest.
The opportunities here are boundless and I just need to be okay with being uncomfortable for some time while I make friends and get involved in groups and intramurals.  One of the RA’s on a different floor suggested I try intramural volleyball because she loved it. It’s not super intense and nobody on the non-competitive team is very good. I just really want to skip to the part of college where I have lots of great friends and life is good. Patience is a virtue. Well, Shelby’s back and she made friends so I think that means I’m going to go get ready for bed now. If anyone ever reads this, thanks for sticking through it. I know it’s not very exciting, but I haven’t really done anything worth being excited about.
Leave a Reply

